About Us

The Big V is the senior basketball league in Victoria comprising 145 semi-professional sides from 47 Associations in 12 competitions.

These competitions comprise of both genders, and incorporate three levels of senior competition and three levels of youth league competition.

The league commenced under the name “The Victorian Women’s Conference” in 1987. The men’s and women’s competitions were run independently until 2000. Until this time the league was known as either the CVIBL (Country Victorian Invitation Basketball League), the VBL (Victorian Basketball League) or WVBL (Women’s Victorian Basketball League). In 2004, the member clubs of the league voted to re-brand the entire league structure as Big V going forward.


 Jeff Downes – Big V Competitions Manager
Bethany Charles – Big V Operations Coordinator
Amellia Wood – Leagues Communication Coordinator
Jo Chu – Referee Appointments Officer

Committee Members

Tim Mottin (Chair)
Mick Spruhan
David Hughes
Brett Rolfe
Elias Palioyiannis
Nathan Sewell
Adrian Zeminuk
Dan Kirtley (BV Appointee)
Vacant (BV Appointee)

Life Members

Darryl Neal
Frank Smith
Isobel Smith (deceased)
Bruce MacDonald (deceased)